As an immigrant to the United States at an early and impressionable age, I was primed to be fed on a steady diet of 80’s American pop culture as a part of my linguistic education. I was to learn English watching Sesame Street and acquire the ways of the west from “One Life to Live” and Phil Donahue. Instead, I learned English watching the Monty Pythons and The Benny Hill Show and eventually got into The Young Ones and Fawlty Towers and an odd assortment of Britcom. I would’ve been a riot if we’d lived in England. In the US I was just “that-weird-girl-with-an-even-weirder-accent-and-calls-the-hood-of-the-car-a-bonnet.” The news of Rik Mayall’s death made me really sad indeed, as he had been quite an influence in my formative years.

I was thrilled to be asked to paint this set featuring Rik Mayall (and Adrian Edmondson, another roommate from The Young Ones) as a birthday present for someone in the UK.

Rik Mayall

(Biggest to littlest doll) Rik from The Young Ones, Lord Flashheart from Blackadder, Alan Beresford B’Stard from The New Statesman, Richie from Bottom, and Adrian Edmondson from Bottom.

This request came while I was still on holiday, and it was a great one to work on while trying to figure out where I’d put everything before going away as I get to emulate Rik’s explosive temper while looking for a wayward brush or a particular shade of blue!

