Happy New Year! I don’t know about you, but my 2014 had been one heck of a roller coaster ride. Here’s to hoping 2015 will be a smoother one! Then again, without the occasional onslaught from the Great Organizer of the Universe, our lives would be pretty boring, wouldn’t it?

In any case, the time has come to produce a set that I’ll be donating to my friend Susie’s annual Birthday Charity Event. Every year she hosts a big birthday movie screening bash and simultaneously raises money for charity. Last year it was for homeless dogs and this year the honor goes to elephants. She never has to ask twice for me to get involved. I can be a bit of a cold fish at times as I have a tendency to laugh when small children falls down in front of me, but when it comes to suffering animals, I’m a goner. I can’t watch any movies starring animals because that’s the best way to get the waterworks started and then I’d be sad for the rest of the day.

This year the movie “The Fall” starring Lee Pace will be screened. I am a huge fan of costume designer Eiko Ishioka, whom, I believed, saved that J-Lo debacle “The Cell” from being a complete dud by producing the most magnificent garbs.

eiko06

Since I’ve never heard of “The Fall” (but I have heard of Lee Pace so naturally I was interested), I had to look around a bit for visual references and the first one I came across blew me away.

dno7w2PYXs5OJo5ItqBxQMG7Ymq

It took about half a year for me to get to work on this set, but I’m pretty happy that it should become the first one of 2016!

The Fall

Nothing I do can really reflect the full majesty of this film, but it won’t stop me from planning a retrospective of Eiko Ishioka’s body of work…in nesting doll form!