I could not believe my luck when I got an email one day asking me if I’d be interested in painting the characters from the 1987 horror movie “Dolls”. It would be a gift and the buyer isn’t familiar at all with the film so I was basically allowed to go hog wild on this one.

Believe it or not, I have actually seen this movie. It was during my art school days when I had to stay up late to finish a painting or something like that. The TV was naturally on and pretty soon I was engrossed in a movie about murderous dolls and I had to stop what I was doing to watch it. I could never look at a porcelain doll the same way again after that!

 dolls1

There are quite a few characters in the cast but I was able to fit them all into this set of 5 by painting some of the actors who were transformed into dolls after doing something naughty within the confines of the old witches’ home.

punch

I don’t know about you, but the Punch doll is all kinds of creepy. He beats his wife too in addition to being exceptionally unattractive, for crying out loud!

hilary

The two punk rock girls were turned into dolls after attempting to steal from the old lady.

ralph

This hapless traveler was spared from the transformation due to his childlike enthusiasm when it came to toys.

judy

Every stepchild’s dream come true: Having their wicked stepmother turned into dolls!

There’s something very meta about this: Painting people who transform humans into dolls as dolls while holding dolls. Wrap your head around THAT one!

