Five years and thousands of hours later, I have painted my 500th set of dolls! It’s all kinds of exciting because I never thought I’d get this far in the babushkaring game before abandoning it like I usually do with everything else. It’s kind of funny that the 500th set should be the mini Nightmare Before Christmas.

mini nightmare1

This set was created for someone in Entertainment Weekly, my favorite magazine, as a thank you present for including the original Nightmare set in the 2014 Holiday Gift Guide. To be in the same magazine as some of my favorite entertainers and Stephen King—it’s a dream come true! Before anything went digital, I used to have my parents send me my weekly dose of EW while I bummed around the globe. It was my sole connection to the life I was accustomed to and had to abandon so I was thrilled to be a part of it. Surely this means I can retire!

10277939_10204218391194117_679227066767910673_n

Thank you, Stephanie! And also a big shout out to my friend Lara, who took this shot from her magazine long before I got to see it on my Kindle!

