My BFF from way back when is one of those people who can be counted on to answer questions concerning the events of the human race, be it past or present. I mean, there’s nothing that girl doesn’t know. She was like this when we were eleven, and even more so at the ripe old age of (not applicable). So when I posted this “teaser” photo of my current project on facebook, I said to myself, “that girl is going to know exactly who this guy is.”

Roberts

I was right. Despite wrangling three small boys from six months old to four, she still manages to know every single one of the nine supreme court judges of good ol’ USA.

When the idea to paint the nine supreme court judges was proposed to me, it was suggested that Judge Roberts’ ears ought to be prominent, as they are quite large. I eagerly looked for photos of Judge Roberts, hoping it’d jut out like Ross Perot’s except comically bigger. To my disappointed, Hon. John G. Roberts turned out to be a rather handsome man and his ears, although large, didn’t resemble Alfred E. Neuman‘s.

I initially thought I’d have to painstakingly sculpt a few ears, cast them, and then spend a few days sanding them down to identical sizes. Since I now often have to choke down meals at my work table and resent the easy lifestyle the ginger cat down the street was living, I was not looking forward to this extra work. Then I remembered that I had eaten straight up Ramen for many many months just so I could invest in a 3D printer and everything started to come together after that.

Supreme Court Justices

From biggest to smallest: John G. Roberts, Antonin Scalia, Clarence Thomas, Sonia Sotomayor, Stephen G. Breyer, Elena Kagen, Anthony Kennedy, Samuel Alito, and Ruth Bader Ginsberg.

This was a set of 10, which means I had to leave out the last doll and put something else in its place…as a surprise for the buyer. So I looked around and found the best accessory for these judges:

-6

This fabulous miniature gavel!

Also, here’s the 3D printer, which the Hubs has modified somewhat. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with this thing. One one hand, it has the ability to print me a pair of ears. On the other, the sound it makes whilst printing is driving me insane.

-1

