It seems like these days I’ve been painting the same things all the time. It’s fine since I’ve got the system down and I can more or less crank out a set in a few days’ time instead of a whole week. There’s less time for reading and Angry Birds, but I’m usually the happiest in my sweatshop.

-1

All right, the picture above is not so much a system as it is me showing off my ability to correctly label and arrange the paints by color, but still…

The only reason why I’m not whining about how I’m always painting the same sets over and over is that I’m a firm believer in the fact there’s always room for improvement. Painting isn’t exactly my forte…I’ve always been a pen and ink kind of gal since it’s so readily accessible and you can do far more damage with indelible ink than paint.

So I’m pretty happy that, while looking through the archives of the 335 sets I’ve done, I can see some improvements.

the-royal-tenebaums

This was the first ever Royal Tenenbaum set I’ve painted. What with it being the first one, I didn’t get a chance to refine it. I’m a bit embarrassed to see it plastered all across various websites and tumblr and other social media outlets, actually.

royal-tenenbaums-portrait

The other ones have gotten slightly better, but it could still use some fine tuning. One of the major addition is Mordecai, Richie’s pet bird.

The Royal Tenenbaums 5

Lately, the Tenenbaum sets have gone through some transformations but I’ve been too busy to photograph them all. All right, most of you are probably saying to yourselves, “What are you on about, Irene? They all look the same!” Not so! Richie Tenenbaum’s got on a pair of sunnies now!

Kumar Pallana, the actor who played Mr. Pagoda and other bit parts in Wes Anderson films has passed away recently. In honor of him, I’m now including a mini Pagoda in the newer Royal Tenenbaum sets.

The Royal Tenenbaums 6

Pagoda

Here is another addition/subtraction to the set: Mordecai is now replaced by “Three Plays” by Margot Tenenbaum.

Three Plays

This new set of six will be available at the Pygmy Hippo Shoppe in February.

But how cool is that background?

image

It’s done by Max Dalton, who did an excellent depiction of the Tenenbaum house. I’ve been looking for something new to hang on my studio wall…think I’ve found one! All of them are sold out, but I am fortunate enough to snag the one he did of all of my favorite horror movie villains…and then some!

