Happy new year!

My friend Susie in Texas always seems to have the best birthday party themes. Last year was The Shining and this year is Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. But her birthdays are not always all about her. There’s a charity auction involved, and it’s for the stray dogs living on the streets. I don’t know if you are aware, but I have an extremely soft spot for dogs. I can watch the most horrific movies of terror without thinking anything of it, but I absolutely cannot sit through a movie about dogs without crying my little eyes out. I’m pretty sure I’m the only person in this world who’s ever shed a tear watching “Hotel for Dogs.”

This is why, when Susie asked me to donate a Life Aquatic themed matryoshka doll set to her cause, I jumped at it.

team-zissou

This Life Aquatic deluxe set (it’s deluxe because I’ve included the Owen Wilson character in it as well) will be auctioned off at the Texas Theater on January 25. Half the proceeds from the art auction will go to Duck Team 6 street dog rescue.

