I’ve been totally obsessed with Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass for as long as I can remember. It might have something to do with the fact that I appreciate madness and mayhem and absurdity in the everyday life, and Lewis Carroll has written stories chuck full of it.

alice in wonderland

This is my not-so-PC version of Alice. Whilst working on it I started reading another take of the Alice story called “Splintered” by H.G. Howard. It’s always fun to see how other people interpret the classics. I’m only a couple of chapters into it, but so far it’s enjoyable.

What annoys me the most about the film versions is that there had to be some sort of achievements Alice needs to pertain in order to grow up as a proper lady. It sort of takes the whimsy out of everything. Why can’t it just be good, meaningless fun? I believe the best Alice movie has got to be Czech filmmaker Jan Švankmajer’s stop motion version entitled Něco z Alenky  (“Something From Alice”, or simply “Alice” in the English translation. It’s suitably creepy for those of you who like dark things. The critters in the movies looked as though they’ve been salvaged from a taxidermist’s garage sale. Best of all, this movie can be streamed off Netflix! For those of you who are turned off on the idea of foreign films because of the subtitle issues, don’t worry. Dialogues in this one is minimal.

