Family portraits are not the easiest to organize, is it? You have to get everyone to show up at the right place and at the right time; you have to make sure your outfits coordinate with one another. If there are young children involved, you have to make sure they can sit or stand still long enough without sticking a finger up their nose. My parents were smart. They didn’t even bother doing a formal family portrait with my brother and me until we were well into our teens.

It’s different with dolls, though. All you have to do is send me pics of people or animals you want painted, tell me what outfits you want done (or in this case, several close ups of the outfits itself from the very accommodating Miz L), and bam, you have yourself and your family members immortalized on a set of Russian dolls. Not a bad deal, is it? Best of all, you don’t even have to cover that pesky pimple and practice “simizing” in front of a mirror.

DSCF0001

DSCF0004

Everybody should have a hat that asks a delicate question.

DSCF0006

…and every kid should have a Nutcase helmet (their motto is: I love my brain).

DSCF0007

I’ve painted countless cats before, but this is the first time I ever painted a polydactl kitty. Apparently he’s got several extra toes…my kind of cat!

