If you grew up in the 80s, you’d probably be familiar with this little fantasy film, based on the Michael Ende book of the same title. Raise your hand if you cried when Atreyu’s horse Artax sank into the Swamp of Sadness.

The Neverending Story

Clockwise from left: Bastian Bux, Atreyu, Falkor, The Childlike Empress, and the Gmork.

Falkor

In the beginning I was reluctant to make this set because of my shoddy sculpting skills and that making Falkor means I’ll have to work with fur again (shudder). But mousse clay is exceptionally forgiving and I solved the fur problem by needle felting a big wodge of wool so it’s more compliant and eliminated shedding altogether. One of the last places I went to when I was back in NY was M&J Trimming, my home away from home, and picked up some iridescent bits to make Falkor’s body complete. Ms. Irene don’t play around when she’s serious.

Atreyu1

How many you gals (and guys) out there were obsessed with Atreyu? The actor himself cleaned up nicely—the morning show here did a profile on Noah Hathaway not too long ago and all I gots to say is: Hubba hubba.

Auryn

The Auryn

Bastian

Bastian Balthazar Bux

Neverending Story book

Thank goodness for the macro option in my camera. If you’re to peer at the book closely with just your naked eye, you won’t even be able to read the title. Apparently there’s a betting pool happening amongst my friends determining when I’m going to go blind.

Childlike Empress

Here’s the Childlike Empress holding a single grain of sand, the only thing remained of Fantasia other than herself. All Bastian had to do to restore Fantasia is to make a whole lot of wishes on it. Luckily, he chose to avenge himself from the bullies with Falkor rather than to raise his mother from the dead.

Gmork

The Gmork, the servant of the Nothing. Since he always looked to me like an unfinished puppet in the movie, I chose to paint only his head.

Neverending Story Matryoshka

And yes! You can definitely open Falkor up and put the rest of the dolls inside.

While I was expressing interest in making this set, a friend sent me this photo. It’s quite possibly the funniest thing I’ve ever seen in my life, and believe me, I’ve seen plenty of funny things.

atreyu

It’s rather genius when you think about it!

