I didn’t know it was possible, but I was able to get my hands on a set of 10 dolls for a reasonable price. Before I could paint the characters from “Arabian Nights” on it, a request came for a family portrait for those dolls. It’s fine by me, since it’ll probably be a whole year before I can get this most ambitious project finished…the biggest doll in that set measures a whole foot tall (and half as wide)!

I like doing the family portraits because it gives me a glimpse into someone else’s life for a little while. I get to know these people that I’ve never met and never will by bringing them to life in doll form.

Speaking of family sets…there’s one that’s been on the back burner for a while now that I am dying to paint. Here’s a little hint: Their outfits are made out of drapes.

