There so many horror movies out there that just make me want to plaster myself against the TV screen and scream, “Yes! Yes! Stab that whiny bee-yotch in the eye with her Dexter-Russel cutlery!” I get so out of control with these movies. But don’t get me wrong, I don’t always go nuts watching horror films. There are some that make me sit very still, mesmerized, and go, “Ohhh…” in a very quiet voice usually reserved for church or all-you-can-eat buffet lunches.

…this is one of them.

Alejandro Jodorowsky’s surreal take on circus folks is one of the best films out there today—but definitely not for the faint of heart. This is Alma, the hearing-impaired and mute young heroine who has got the best costume in the film. So much so that I’m seriously thinking of being her for Halloween this year!

Here’s Concha, who is armless throughout the second part of the film. Don’t worry! Being a circus folk and all, that’s actually an asset!

Fenix, who has developed an act with his mother by being her arms.

I know! It’s not an easy movie to explain. All I can say is that I enjoyed watching it and painting some of the key characters!

And…you can always stream it off Netflix!

