I feel a little bad that I haven’t given my Mom any dolls yet. But there’s a good reason: I need to make one that is perfect for her. I’m not sure how things work in the Creativity Department of my brain. I find that, over the years, it’s best if I wait docilely for an inspiration. Fortunately, this year it deigned to give me just the doll to give to Mom—and in time for Mother’s Day! I have to admit that perhaps this idea isn’t all from the Creativity Department. Mom helped too…by trying out all the recipes in a cookbook probably called Simply Chiffon…and bombarding me with every flavor of chiffon cakes at all hours of the day…and night! Since this is a gift for a woman who once suggested I have a 3-layer chocolate torte for dinner…cake it is!

This single bottle holder babushka doll can house the perfect dessert wine to go with the cakes…or better yet, a bottle of pure vanilla extract!

I love sprinkles, and I love glitter…you know where this is leading up to!

“My mom is literally a part of me. You can’t say that about many people except relatives, and organ donors.”
– Carrie Latet

Happy Mother’s Day!

