As a kid, I used to adore puppets…to a point that I believed they were real. Hand puppets were a particular favorite of mine…so much that my students, back when I was still teaching, had to suffer through a mandatory unit of puppet-making every year. But the puppets held such magic onto themselves that even the surliest of teenagers filed no complaints when I announced those inevitable words: “It’s puppet time!”

Here’s Pat with his ventriloquist puppet Schlomo, attempting the ever-popular drink-a-glass-of-water-while-the-puppet-sing trick; Betsy with her handmade Viking marionette; and Gage with his beloved Punch and Judy hand puppets.

One of these days, if the timing is right, I would love to be in the center of a Puppetry Festival. But until then, I’ll keep on painting them!

