Every now and then I will really miss my pink yet utilitarian bedroom in New York. It’s been my cocoon, my womb, from the world for a few years. I don’t really need to ensconce myself inside a pink universe anymore, since the Gold Coast sunshine does more than enough for me. But I still miss it sometimes.

Irene'sCrap

After living in a cramped studio apartment for four years straight in the East Village where everything I owned had to be stacked up in my bookcases so I could physically maneuver my way around (you can bet I prayed each night before bed there wouldn’t be an earthquake), I felt more secure sleeping with my head up against objects with blunt edges.

DSCF4069

So it was with a slight homesick heart that I painted “Sugar and Spice,” a deviation from the darker themes of late. I just find the color pink so comforting.

