There are precious few horror movies out there that is both terrifying and visually compelling. “Pan’s Labyrinth” is one such movie, so is “The Orphanage.” After last night, I’m adding the most excellent K-horror “Hansel and Gretel” into the pot. What a beautifully made movie. Extra kudos to the set designer Ryu Seong-hee, who is now dominating the top of my list of people whose talents I covet.

In a way, I wished that I’d seen the movie before creating this Gingerbread House sewing jar so it’d look extra creepy. Then again, who wants a creepy Gingerbead House sewing jar?

Here are some stills from “Hansel and Gretel” that I absolutely must share!

Here’s one of the kids leading the main character into the seemingly jolly “House of Happy Children.

The three kids are mesmerized by a sadistic black and white cartoon with low production value in their gorgeous living room.

 The youngest wondering if the main character would tell her a story.

The kids enjoying a sumptuous meal of cakes and other sugary treats. Yum!

This film is totally my jam: Sugary treacles for breakfast? Yes! A doll carriage filled with broken doll head? Bring it! Children possessing eerie Twilight Zone-esque powers? I believe I’m having the shakes…And a murderous deacon wearing an Edward Gorey-inspired winter coat? Oh, my god! Here comes a seizure!

Sadly, this cannot be rented or streamed off Netflix. Don’t you wish (that is, if you’re a New Yorker) that Kim’s Video is still in business?

